A letter from a bride to her future spouse

This time we want to share with you a beautiful love letter that Gianna Beretta wrote to her fianceé Pietro Molla few days before their wedding. The letter was read during the World Meeting of Families 2015 in Philadelphia by Gianna Emanuela Molla, daughter of the couple.

Dearest Pietro,

When I think of our great reciprocal love, I can do nothing but thank the Lord. It is true that love is the most beautiful sentiment that God has given to us and we’ll always love each other as we do now, Pietro.

My dearest Pietro, thank you for everything. I want to tell you all that I feel, all that is in my heart, but I can’t.  But you already know what my feelings are. So you must know how to understand me.

Dearest Pietro, I am sure that you will always make me as happy as I am now and that the Lord will listen to our prayers coming from our hearts that is always to love Him and to serve Him in a saintly way.

Pietro, how much I have to learn from you. You are such a fine example for me and I thank you for it. With God’s help and blessing we will do all we can to make our new family, a little cenacle where Jesus will reign over all our affections, desires, and actions.

My Pietro, our wedding is just few days away now and I feel so moved to be so near receiving the sacrament of love. We will be working with God in His creation. In this way we can give Him children who will love and serve Him.

Pietro, will I be able to be the wife and mother you have always wanted? I hope so because you deserve it and I love you so much. I kiss you and embrace you with all my love.

Gianna


About Gianna:

Gianna Francesca Beretta was born in Magenta in Italy. She was the tenth of thirteen children in her family, only nine of whom survived to adulthood. When she was three, her family moved to Bergamo, and she grew up in the Lombardy region of Italy.

In 1942, Gianna began her study of medicine in Milan. Outside of her schooling, she was active in Azione Cattolica. She received a medical diploma in 1949, and opened an office in Mesero, near her hometown of Magenta, where she specialized in pediatrics.

Gianna hoped to join her brother, a missionary priest in Brazil, where she intended to offer her medical expertise in gynecology to poor women. However, her chronic ill health made this impractical, and she continued her practice in Italy.

In December 1954, Gianna met Pietro Molla, an engineer who worked in her office, ten years older than she. They were officially engaged the following April, and they married in September 1955.

The couple had Pierluigi, born in 1956, Maria Zita, in 1957 and Laura, was born in 1959. Gianna suffered two miscarriages after this.

In 1961, Gianna was once again expecting. During the second month, Gianna developed a fibroma on her uterus. After examination, the doctors gave her three choices: an abortion, which would save her life and allow her to continue to have children; a complete hysterectomy, which would preserve her life, but take the unborn child’s life, and prevent further pregnancy; or removal of only the fibroma, with the potential of further complications. Roman Catholic teaching would have allowed her to obtain a hysterectomy, but would forbid an abortion. Wanting to preserve her child’s life, she opted for the removal of the fibroma.

After the operation, complications continued throughout her pregnancy. Gianna was quite clear about her wishes, expressing to her family, “This time it will be a difficult delivery, and they may have to save one or the other — I want them to save my baby.”

On April 21, 1962, Good Friday of that year, Gianna went to the hospital, where her fourth child, Gianna Emanuela, was successfully delivered via Caesarean section. However, Gianna continued to have severe pain, and died of septic peritonitis 7 days after the birth.

Source: Catholic Online

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

